High School

Petco Park to host high school baseball all-star game

Eastlake's Grant Holman, last year's San Diego Section Player of the Year, is among the athletes picked to play at Petco Park.

Hayne Palmour IV / San Diego Union-Tribune
Eastlake’s Grant Holman, last year’s San Diego Section Player of the Year, is among the athletes picked to play at Petco Park.
Eastlake’s Grant Holman, last year’s San Diego Section Player of the Year, is among the athletes picked to play at Petco Park. (Hayne Palmour IV / San Diego Union-Tribune)

After an absence of more than 20 years, a San Diego County high school all-star baseball game is back.

And it’s back in a big way.

The Padres and the CIF ’s San Diego Section are collaborating to present Padres High School All-Star Night on June 6 at Petco Park.

The nine-inning game — featuring an East vs. West format, with interstates 15 and 805 being the dividing line — will take place following the Padres’ 12:40 p.m. game that day with the Atlanta Braves .

“We are excited to revive the high school all-star game and showcase some of the outstanding high school baseball talent in the San Diego community,” said Erik Greupner, Padres chief operating officer.

“We are proud to partner with FOX Sports San Diego and the CIF to host the all-star game at Petco Park, create the new CIF San Diego Section high school baseball and softball interactive hat display and launch the Coach of the Week program honoring the high school baseball and softball coaches who are making a difference in the lives of our local student athletes.”

The game features no fewer than 30 players who have committed to colleges, including last year’s Player of the Year, Grant Holman of Eastlake, who is headed to Cal.

The 24-man teams include players from all grade levels, not just seniors.

“We wanted the best players, not just the best seniors,” said San Diego Section Commissioner Jerry Schniepp, who worked with the Padres to present the game. “If we wanted the best players, we needed to include all classes. And I think we have two excellent teams.”

The teams were chosen by the baseball coach’s advisory committee and media. Coaches were asked to nominate players, and the original list included more than 150 players.

A home run derby will precede the game. Holman, Trevor Hazelhurst (Granite Hills), Garret Nielsen (Christian) and D’Artagnan Van Dusen (Lincoln) will represent the East. Spencer Jones (La Costa Canyon), Kingston Liniak ( Mission Hills ), Vincent Martinez ( San Marcos ) and Joey Magrisi (Torrey Pines) will represent the West.

Tickets for the game are $14 for upper infield, $20 for field pavilion and $25 for Toyota Terrace reserved.

The price includes that day’s Padres game or the option to attend a Padres game on Aug. 30, Sept. 18 or Sept. 30. Tickets can be purchased online at .



Name | School | Year | Position | Commitment

Joey Magrisi | Torrey Pines | Sr. | RHP | Cal State Fullerton

Mac Bingham | Torrey Pines | Jr. | OF | USC

Victor Martinez | San Marcos | Sr. | C | Stanford

Kade Kretzschmar | San Marcos | Sr. | OF | Dartmouth

Spencer Jones | La Costa Canyon | Jr. | 1B-LHP | Vanderbilt

Keaton Carattini | La Costa Canyon | Sr. | RHP | Michigan

Kingston Liniak | Mission Hills | Sr. | OF | USD

Jon Clark | Mission Hills | Sr. | RHP

Nathan Barraza | Mission Hills | So. | 3B

Jack Dolak | St. Augustine | Sr. | RHP | USD

Angelo Peraza | St. Augustine | So. | C

Kevin Lyons | Westview | Sr. | RHP | UC Santa Barbara

Austin Mowrey | La Jolla Country Day | Sr. | 3B | Columbia

Devin Padua | Madison | Sr. | 2B-SS | Cal State San Marcos

Michael Paredes | San Diego | Sr. | SS-RHP | San Diego State

Michael Campagna | Francis Parker | Sr. | C

James Shimashita | Madison | Sr. | OF-LHP | San Jose State

Adam Lovato | Madison | Sr. | OF | Cal State San Marcos

Ivan Luna | Vista | Sr. | 1B-LHP | Fresno State

Cole Colleran | Canyon Crest | So. | OF-LHP

Brady Hoff | Fallbrook | Fr. | OF-LHP

Stephen Klenske | Sage Creek | Jr. | RHP-1B

Mitchell Sardo | Point Loma | Sr. | RHP

Jacob Allred | Cathedral Catholic | Sr. | OF | Arizona

Coaches: Robert Lovato (Madison), Rielly Embrey (Del Norte), Justin Machado (La Costa Canyon), Jeff Dufek (San Marcos), Dennis Pugh (Mission Bay).


Name | School | Year | Position | Commitment

Randy Abshier | Otay Ranch | Sr. | LHP | Arizona

Chris Lopez | Otay Ranch | Sr. | 3B

Robert Brodel | ;Brawley | Sr. | SS-RHP

Dayton Dooney | Poway | Sr. | SS | Arizona

Deron Johnson | Poway. | Sr. | C

Kevin Van Linge | Poway | Sr. | 2B

Derek Diamond | Ramona | Jr. | RHP-3B | Stanford

Bryce Roe | Ramona | Sr. | RHP-OF | New Mexico State

Tristan Stacy | Ramona | Sr. | OF | New Mexico State

Jake Fenn | Granite Hills | Sr. | 1B | Nevada

Sean McGrew | Granite Hills | Sr. | 2B

Trevor Hazelhurst | Granite Hills | Sr. | LHP-OF | Nevada

Grant Holman | Eastlake | Sr. | RHP-1B | Cal

Brian Leonhardt | Eastlake | Sr. | LHP-1B | San Diego State

Micah Pietila-Wiggs | Eastlake | Sr. | OF

Kobby Lopez | Imperial | Sr. | LHP

Garret Nielsen | Christian | Sr. | OF | Cal

Zach Owens | Helix | Sr. | C | Azusa Pacific

Brandon Peterson | Helix | Sr. | OF | San Jose State

Alonzo Richardson | Helix | So. | SS/RHP

Mason Pelio | Rancho Bernardo | Sr. | RHP-OF | Boston College

Nick Seamons | Rancho Bernardo | Sr. | RHP-OF | Nevada

D’Artagnan Van Dusen | Lincoln | Sr. | OF

Coaches: James Davis (Granite Hills), Bob Parry (Poway), Cole Holland (Helix), Jordan Abruzzo (Grossmont)

[email protected]